2016 M&P Compensation Review: FAQs for M&P Staff

Some commonly asked questions pertaining to the M&P Compensation Review are answered below.

Q1: Will I receive a salary increase as a result of the compensation survey?

A: It depends.  There are a few factors that are determinative:

[1] If your salary fell below the minimum of the “new pay grade”, then your salary will be increased to the minimum of the “new pay grade”.  This will occur on the effective date (July 1, 2018).

OR

[2] If your salary was at or above the midpoint of the “old pay grade”, but fell below the midpoint of the “new pay grade”, then your salary will be increased to the midpoint of the “new pay grade”.  This will occur on the effective date (July 1, 2018).

Due to the current provincial government wage constraints, excluded management & professional staff (i.e., M&P staff who are not represented by AAPS) are not eligible for increases at this time.

Employees who were above the midpoint of the “old pay grade”, and who remain above the midpoint of the “new pay grade” are not eligible for a salary increase.

Some sample scenarios of the implementation are described in this PDF document.

Q2: Will I receive notification from Human Resources (HR) regarding the salary increases?

A: HR will send individual memos to M&P staff whose salaries have been adjusted as a result of the implementation.  M&P staff whose salaries were not impacted will not receive a memo from HR.

Q3: If I am eligible for a salary increase effective July 1, 2018, when will I see this reflected in my pay statement?

A: Human Resources and Payroll are working on processing the increases, and are aiming to have changes implemented on the July 1, 2018 pay cheque. If this planned timeline is modified, we will communicate the change to the campus community.

Q4: How would I know what my job family is or what my classification is?

A: Your job family and level are indicated in the offer letter you received when you started your current position.  If you’re not sure, we encourage you to contact your Department Administrator. If you do not have an Administrator, you can email Human Resources at compensation@hr.ubc.ca or call the HR Service Centre at 604-822-8111.

Q5: How would I know if my job family is affected in the third phase implementation (July 1, 2018)?

A: For your convenience, we have provided a summary of the job families affected by the settlement in this PDF document. Job families not affected by the settlement are:

  • Administration
  • Athletics & Recreation
  • Business Development
  • Business Operations Management
  • Coop Education
  • Counsellors/Psychologists
  • Development & Alumni Engagement
  • Editorial & Production Services
  • Educational Programming
  • Facilities Management
  • Genetic Counsellor
  • Health Safety & Environment
  • Industry Liaison
  • Information Systems & Technology
  • Institutional Analysis
  • Legal
  • Marketing & Sales
  • Museum
  • Nursing
  • Research & Facilitation
  • Scientific Engineering
  • Security
  • Statistical Analysis

Q6: What if I am an employee on salary continuance?

A: If you are on salary continuance at the date of implementation, and you are eligible for a salary increase, then you will receive retroactive pay, and will be paid at the new level until the end of your salary continuance.

Q7: What if I am no longer employed by UBC?

A: If you are not an employee of UBC at the implementation date, then you are not eligible.

Q8: What if I am in the Unassigned Job Family?

A: Employees in the Unassigned Job Family are not affected.

Q9: What happens if I am below my current midpoint, and remain below the midpoint of the new salary grade?

A: You will not receive an increase on the July 1 pay cheque, in accordance with the implementation rules. However, in accordance with Letter of Agreement #1 between the University and AAPS on salary administration, you will be eligible for Career Progress Increments (i.e., Midpoint Progression Increases), subject to satisfactory performance.

Q10: I have submitted my resignation from the University and the effective date is July 1, 2018.  Will I receive the July 1, 2018 adjustment?

A: Since your termination date from the University is July 1, 2018, you will not be eligible for the adjustment.

Q11: If I filed a reclassification request, how will this implementation affect the outcome of the reclassification request?

A: The implementation of the results of the M&P compensation review will not impact the reclassification request process. Depending on the outcome of the reclassification request and the retroactive date, you will be placed at the appropriate level within the new structure.

Q12.  I am in the Student Management Job Family and from previous communications, I know my level will be adjusted in the third phase of the M&P Compensation Review implementation. Yet, I don’t see any information regarding the adjustments of the Student Management Job Family.

A:  The Student Management Job Family underwent a review with new levels created and Occupational Guidelines being written.  If you are classified in the Student Management job family, you will receive a separate memo pertaining to the classification of you position.