2011 M&P Compensation Review: FAQs for M&P Staff

If you are an M&P staff member with a question about how this implementation of the M&P Compensation Review affects you, please note the following:

  • The Human Resources and Payroll departments are currently in the process of programming and implementing the changes. Information about your individual eligibility is not yet available.
  • We anticipate that applicable salary increases for the Dec. 1, 2014, implementation will appear on staff members’ Dec. 15, 2014, pay cheques. If there are any changes to this timeline, we will communicate the new dates to the campus community.
  • M&P staff members who will receive a salary increase for the Dec. 1, 2014, implementation will receive a letter in early December, 2014, detailing the change.
  • Any questions about how individual staff members are affected should wait until after Dec. 15, 2014.

For assistance after Dec. 15, 2014, please email compensation@hr.ubc.ca and someone will respond to your inquiry. We will not be able to respond to specific questions until after Dec. 15.

Q: Will I receive a salary increase on July 1, or Dec. 1, 2014, as a result of the compensation survey?

A: It depends. There are a few factors that are determinative:

[1] If your salary fell below the minimum of your “new pay grade”, then it will be increased to the minimum of the “new pay grade”. This will occur on the effective date (depending on the phase, this could be Jan. 1, 2014, July 1, 2014, or Dec. 1, 2014)

Or

[2] If your salary was at or above the midpoint of the “old pay grade”, but fell below the midpoint of the “new pay grade”, then it will be increased to the midpoint of the “new pay grade”. This will occur on the effective date (as noted above)

Due to the current provincial government management salary freeze, excluded management & professional staff (i.e., who are not part of the AAPS bargaining unit) are not eligible for increases at this time.

Employees who were above the midpoint of the “old pay grade”, and who remain above the midpoint of the “new pay grade” are not eligible for a salary increase.

Some sample scenarios of the implementation (PDF) are available.

Q: Which job families and job family levels are affected by this implementation?

A: For your reference, we have provided a summary of the affected job families and job family levels (PDF).

Q: Will department Administrators receive information about the final implementation changes denoted for each eligible M&P staff in the department?

A: In October (prior to the planned implementation on the July 15 pay cheque), Human Resources (HR) will provide the department administrator a spreadsheet that lists the M&P staff members in your department who are affected.

Individual memos will also be sent to affected M&P staff advising them of their salary increase. If you have questions pertaining to your specific situation, please contact compensation@hr.ubc.ca after Dec. 15, 2014, and somebody will respond to your inquiry. Administrators at the Okanagan campus should contact Janna Steinthorson (janna.steinthorson@ubc.ca, 7-9596).

Q: Will I receive notification from Human Resources (HR) regarding the salary increases?

A: HR will send individual memos to M&P staff whose salaries have been adjusted as a result of the implementation. M&P staff whose salaries were not impacted will not receive a memo from HR.

If you are eligible for the Dec. 1, 2014, increase, you will receive a memo from HR in early December.

Q: If I am eligible for the Dec. 1, 2014, salary increase, when will I see this reflected in my pay statement?

A: Human Resources and Payroll are working toward processing the increases and any retroactive pay on the Dec. 15, 2014, pay cheque. Note that this is a target date only, and it could be later. If this planned timeline is modified, we will communicate the change to the campus community.

Q: I am currently on salary continuance. Will I be eligible for the increase?

A: If your salary continuance was given on or after Dec. 1, 2014, and if you are eligible for a salary increase, then you will receive retroactive pay back to Dec.  1, 2014, the effective date.

Q: What about employees who have left UBC?

A: Individuals who are no longer employees as of the effective date (i.e. Jan. 1, 2014, July 1, 2014, or Dec. 1, 2014, for the three phases, respectively), will not be entitled to any retroactive pay (back to the effective date).

Eligible employees who leave UBC after the effective date, but before the implementation date, will receive a retroactive payment for the period of time they were at UBC.

Q: What if I have moved to another department after the effective date?

A: If both the former and new positions are M&P, then both positions will be considered for any potential increases and retroactive pay back to the effective date (i.e., Jan. 1, 2014, July 1, 2014, or Dec. 1, 2014, for the three phases, respectively), in accordance with the implementation rules outlined above. If you moved from an M&P position to another employee group (without a break in service), only the M&P position will be considered for any increases and the retroactive pay back to the effective date of the position, if applicable.

Q: When will the Dec. 1, 2014, implementation take place?

A: We are currently working on the July 1, 2014, implementation. Once we have completed this implementation, we will provide information about the timelines for the Dec. 1 implementation.

Q: What if I am in the “Unassigned” job family?

A: Employees in the Unassigned job family are not affected.

Q: Have some of the job families been combined?

A: Yes, the “Building Maintenance” job family and the “Facilities, Planning and Engineering” job family have been combined as one new family, called “Facilities Management”.

The practice of combining job families after careful review is part of the University’s regular business practice.

Q: If I filed a reclassification request, how will this implementation affect the outcome of the reclassification request?

A: The implementation of the results of the M&P compensation review will not impact the reclassification request process. Depending on the outcome of the reclassification request and the retroactive date, you will be placed at the appropriate level within the new structure.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.